Home Refractory Middlesbrough will find out their Carabao Cup first-round opponents on the same day as their league fixture list

Middlesbrough will find out their Carabao Cup first-round opponents on the same day as their league fixture list


On the same day that the league schedule is announced, Middlesbrough learn of their first-round opponents in the Carabao Cup. The EFL announced on Wednesday that the cup draw will take place next Thursday afternoon, with matches being played this morning.

Match Release Day has become a staple on many football fans’ calendars as the new season officially takes shape and plans for matches begin to form. While Premier League release day takes place this Thursday morning, Boro and other Championship clubs will have to wait an additional seven days, with games scheduled to start on Thursday 23rd April.

This season will look a little different due to the Winter World Cup in Qatar as EFL clubs like Boro will have to take a four week break from 12 November and further postponements are possible after that if the club has more than three players in the competition beyond that the group stage and request that the matches be played at a later date. From the looks of it, Australian Riley McGree is the only Boro player likely to move to Qatar, although that’s before Chris Wilder overhauls his squad this summer, where he hopes to add more quality to his Boro roster.

CONTINUE READING:Two forwards and a goalkeeper are priorities as Chris Wilder begins Middlesbrough rebuilding

The World Cup-enforced hiatus means the season will start a week earlier this year, with the first EFL weekend starting on Friday 29 July. In the meantime, the first round of the Carabao Cup will take place in the week beginning Monday 8th August. That’s between league game two and three for Boro.

They will take part in the draw for the first round of the cup competition, which Boro won in 2004, next Thursday. The draw takes place live on Sky Sports at 2.30pm just hours after the league fixtures were released. A total of 35 ties will be drawn, with Burnley, Watford and Premier League clubs not participating in European competitions next season and entering round two. Premier League clubs participating in the three continental competitions then compete in round three.

Boro were eliminated from the competition in the very first round last season when a young side lost to Blackpool at Bloomfield Road. But under Wilder, Boro embarked on an exciting FA Cup cup run later in the season, with the new Boro boss making it clear his high standards were set for cup competitions, with demands to build consistency and a winning mentality at the club.